Buddha Statue on the table with candles

Journey of the Soul: The Tibetan Book of the Dead

An Introduction to The Tibetan Book of the Dead

The Tibetan Book of the Dead, also known as Bardo Thodol, is a Tibetan Buddhist sacred text that explains the process of death and rebirth. It is regarded as one of the world's most significant and fascinating spiritual texts.The book describes a series of bardos, or stages, that the spirit goes through after death, including the moment of death, the intermediate state, and the rebirth process. It emphasizes that these stages can be experienced by anyone, not just Buddhists, and it offers guidance on how to navigate them.

Buddha Statues on the table

Exploring the Stages in The Tibetan Book of the Dead

The book describes six major phases, or bardos, that the soul experiences after death. The stages of becoming and rebirth include the time of death, the intermediate condition, and the stages of becoming and rebirth.

Each of these stages symbolizes a unique chance for spiritual growth and liberation, and the book explains how to navigate each one in detail. The soul can overcome the obstacles and illusions that prevent it from reaching enlightenment and liberation through visualization, meditation, and other spiritual practices.

This article will look at the various stages of The Tibetan Book of the Dead and the teachings and practices connected with each one. Whether you are looking for spiritual guidance or are merely curious about the afterlife, this article will help.

The First stage -The Moment of Death

The Tibetan Book of the Dead describes the Moment of Death, also known as the Chikhai Bardo, as the first step in the soul's journey. This stage is said to happen right after the physical body dies and the soul starts to separate from it.

According to the book, as the soul enters the spiritual world, it experiences a profound sense of confusion and disorientation. The soul is said to experience a bright light or luminosity, which can be either peaceful or terrifying, based on the degree of spiritual development of the soul.

The Tibetan Book of the Dead's teachings emphasize the importance of remaining conscious during this stage in order to achieve a peaceful transition and avoid being drawn into negative states of awareness. The spirit can traverse this stage and progress to the next stage of the afterlife journey through visualization and meditation practices.

The Second Stage- The Intermediate State

The Chonyid Bardo, also known as the Intermediate State, is the second stage of the soul's journey as described in The Tibetan Book of the Dead. This period is said to last 49 days, during which the soul has visions and encounters with different deities and beings.

These occurrences, according to the book, are a reflection of the soul's karma and can either lead to enlightenment or further entrapment in the circle of rebirth. Depending on the degree of spiritual development and the nature of the soul's karma, the soul may experience either peaceful or terrifying visions.

The Third Stage- The Stage of Becoming

The Tibetan Book of the Dead describes the third stage of the soul's path as the Stage of Becoming or Sidpa Bardo. This state comes after the Intermediate State and is distinguished by the soul's desire to be reborn and take on a new identity.

The soul is confused and uncertain during this stage as it prepares to start a new life, and its experience is influenced by its prior karma and actions. The significance of spiritual practices such as meditation, compassion, and virtuous behavior in navigating this stage and improving the chances of a positive rebirth is emphasized in the book.

The Stage of Becoming is an important stage in the soul's journey to spiritual development and enlightenment. It is a chance to prepare for a new life and continue on the road of spiritual growth. The teachings and practices associated with this stage provide guidance on how to navigate this process in a positive manner.


The Tibetan Book of the Dead describes the soul's voyage through three stages: the Moment of Death, the Intermediate State, and the Stage of Becoming. Each stage is distinguished by distinct experiences and challenges, and the teachings and practices associated with each stage provide direction on how to successfully manage them.

In the next blog, we'll look at the final phases of the soul's journey as described in The Tibetan Book of the Dead: the Karmic Vision, the Great Liberation through Hearing, and the Re-entry into the World. Each stage reveals more about the soul's journey and provides advice on how to achieve spiritual liberation and freedom from the cycle of rebirth.

Back to blog